Yahoo Weather

You are here

North Hawaii Community Hospital awards scholarships to Big Island students

<p>NHCH Scholarship recipients hold their awards. (PHOTO COURTESY OF NHCH FOR NHN)</p>

NHCH Scholarship recipients hold their awards. (PHOTO COURTESY OF NHCH FOR NHN)

On June 21, North Hawaii Community Hospital awarded scholarships to five Big Island students. Scholarships were presented by Dr. Gary Goldberg, emergency physician at NHCH; Dr. W. Douglas Hiller, NHCH orthopedic surgeon and chief of staff; and Dr. John Dawson, primary care physician.

June Mohr, a resident of Kailua-Kona, received the Peggy Dineen-Orsini Scholarship of $2,000. Mohr is attending the University of Hawaii at Manoa and is enrolled in Pre-Nursing major with an emphasis on Human Development and Family Resources.Private donors along with the hospital’s medical staff fund this scholarship in memory of Peggy Dineen-Orsini, who was a registered nurse at North Hawaii Community Hospital for eight years, from 1996 to 2004.

The second scholarship, funded by the NHCH medical staff, was awarded to Allen Gail Yvette Nitura and Malia Silva, offering each individual a $1,000 scholarship. Nitura, a 2013 graduate of Honokaa High School, will attend Hawaii Pacific University to major in pre-nursing, while Silva, a resident of Kailua Kona, is currently attending Hawaii Community College where she is pursuing a Pre-Nursing major. The NHCH medical Sstaff annual scholarships are funded through the dues each physician pays to be a member of the medical staff at NHCH.

The third and final scholarship opportunity is funded by Hawaii Emergency Physicians Associated, Inc., the independent physician-owned group of board-certified physicians who provide staffing in NHCH’s Emergency Department. The two, $1,000 HEPA scholarships were awarded to North Hawaii high school students: Michelle Ruiz Sahagun of Kapaau, who will attend the University of Hawaii at Hilo to study Elementary Education, and Mindy Ho’olilani Marie Silva of Honokaa, who will study nursing at Hawaii Community College.

All applications were reviewed by the scholarship committees of each sponsoring organization; decisions were based on the criteria and requirements outlined in the scholarship application, which can be found online at