Yahoo Weather

You are here

Hawaii Community FCU awards $13,500 in college scholarships

Hawaii Community Federal Credit Union awarded $13,500 to six Hawaii Island high school seniors through its 2013 Scholarship Program. Awardees were selected from a field of more than 69 applicants from 12 Hawaii Island high schools, a home school and an online school. The scholarships are awarded to high school graduates planning to attend a two or four-year institute of higher learning in the coming school year. Each scholarship is named after a community volunteer who made important contributions to Hawaii Community FCU.

The $2,500 John Y. Iwane Scholarship, given to a student who plans to enter an agriculture-related field of study, was presented to Bishop Jedediah Akao. The Kamehameha Schools-Hawaii campus graduate intends to pursue a career in Agro-ecology.

The $2,500 Peter T. Hirata Scholarship was awarded to Isaac Ang Han. The Kealakehe High School graduate intends to pursue a career in political science and international economics.

Talmage Iokepa Sadanoshin Nakamoto, a Konawaena High School graduate, was awarded the $2,500 Albert Akana Scholarship. Nakamoto’s career goal is to study mechanical engineering.

The $2,500 Katsumasa Tomita Scholarship was presented to Raelyn Gayle Ganiron Nicolas. The Keaau High School graduate intends to become a radiologic technician.

Kellie Iwaskai, a graduate of Waiakea High School, is the recipient of the $2,500 Frank Ishii Scholarship. Iwasaki will be studying to become a physician.

The $1,000 Student Credit Union Scholarship was presented to Jayvimar Adina Arellano, a graduate of Kohala High School, who intends to pursue a career in teaching mathematics.